And I Still Do Walkaway

garbage collector kid

garbage collector kid

For quite sometime now, I see this kid who always sleep in the front yard of a big supermarket near my house. Every time I’ve seen him – it was always around the evening hour – he would sits there, leaning his seems to be tired back against the fence of the supermarket and hugging his big sack. Yup, he’s a garbage collector. A sights not too uncommon to see here around this country I supposed.

Yet every time I’ve seen him, my heart would lurch. From the first time I’ve seen him, I always have this sense of feeling that, this is something that shouldn’t be happening. I can sense that this was not your casual garbage collector kids and I’d really want to do something to him. Something real, something that would really mean something to him.

No, I know i don’t want to simply just give him some money – I’ve already do that – my hearts says that the right thing for me to do is to take him home, provide him with shelter, put him to school, those kind of thing that he really need.

But that was one hell of a big responsibility and I know it perfectly. And I shudder at the thought and I choose to walkaway from it. My thought always finds me a reason for not doing it. Heck I can barely take good care of myself sometime, what in the world makes me think that i can take care of him? Those and million other reason would surface, and the real reason is I simply don’t have the real willingness to do what matter for him. the real reason is that I don’t want to do something and face the hard consequences. The real reason is I simply don’t care enough.

So, I just do what convenience for me, like giving him money, then yeah, I would walkaway. I still see him occasionally. Whenever I go to that supermarket to get some groceries in the evening, I would still see him. Sitting there, leaning at the fence wall. Probably he’d recognized me, for his eyes would stares at me as if to ask me “what would you do for me”. Then I would turn my face in shame, and I would walkaway. And I still do walkaway …

.

.

.

.

For one hell of a courageous lady, who dares to take the responsibility and really do something instead of walking away …

Picture taken by Jonathan McIntosh, 2004. and can be seen here.

About this entry