Your Life, Becomes My Life

But since you must kill to eat, and rob the newly born of its mother’s milk to quench your thirst, let it then be an act of worship.

The Prophet, On Eating and Drinking ~ Kahlil Gibran

Quite a few days ago, on a hell of a hungry afternoon, I decide to have lunch at food stall closed to where I lived. Not a terribly fancy joint so to say, just offering fried or roasted fresh goldfish served with some veggies and three kind of sambal *your common sambal terasi, sambal kecap and sambal nanas* not that pricey but the food quality is good.

I ordered a portion of fried goldfish along with a glass of hot tea. While I wait, I happened to look at the aquarium where the live fishes are kept so it can be served fresh. Afterward, well, I just turned on my phone, and get busy with nothing =))

Not long after that, my order was served. A plate of white rice, three small plate of sambal that I mention above, and the prime show the fried goldfish arranged with some lettuce and cucumber.

Upon looking at the fish, it suddenly strike me, this fish, until a few minutes ago was swimming well in that aquarium. I didn’t know it state of mind, or emotion, or consciousness so to say, but i know this particular fish was alive and kicking *or swimming* And then it was dead, cleaned and cooked and about to be the meal to sate my hungry stomach.

No, I don’t get squeamish at that thought, instead I just feel gratitude, cherished of the life that was taken *involuntary* from this little fish so I could continue living. And silently I said my grace, Your Life, Becomes My Life. Thank you.

About this entry